A New Door Opens

I’m about to cross the 30 year old threshold and my life, for the most part, has been very blessed.  I had two parents that loved me very much, and while I didn’t get everything I wanted I had everything I needed.  Like everyone while growing up my family had challenges and times were difficult, but for the most part it would be selfish of me to complain.

The reason I bring this up is because I have a half-sister that I never really knew.  It’s a very long & complicated story and to be honest I don’t know all of it, but it boils down to she lived with her biological mother and I can count on one hand how many times I remember seeing her.  We shared fathers and last year my father passed away.  I saw her at the funeral we shared a few words but didn’t really have the time or emotional stability to talk in depth.  After the funeral everyone went back to the way things were and we never talked.  Well recently she came by my house and to make a long story she has four kids who don’t have a lot of family and wanted them to get to know the little family they have.  While we were talking I learned a lot about how she grew up.  Her biological mother wasn’t the kindest most loving person in the world, she ended up being homeless for a stretch,  went to jail for a short time for writing a bad check, had cancer, lost a child,  and has struggled just to survive.

Of course I agreed to meet her children, my nephews, and we ended up going to a local place that is the equivalent of a Dave & Busters.  We had a great time, they are great kids and I look forward to continuing to develop a relationship with them.  The title of this blog is A New Door Opens because that is literally what it felt like.  I am really good at cultivating and  living in my own little world completely ignorant of what is going on outside of it.  Suddenly my world has become a lot larger and my past & current struggles have been put firmly in perspective.

I write this now shortly after our first meeting and don’t have any idea what is going to happen in the future.  What I do know is that I have the opportunity to develop a relationship with a sister I have never really known, and hopefully get the chance to be there for my nephews when they need me.  I have walked through this new door and I’m genuinely  excited to see where it leads me.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “A New Door Opens

  1. So very few things in life actually matter, the foremost important one is family. It is awesome that your world is growing a little bit and you will now share your life with a sister and some mini-people (her kids). I’m sure watching them grow and come into their own will add a pleasant fire and comfort to you as you traverse the roller-coaster we call life.

    Kudos to you for caring, in that one act alone you have bested most.

  2. That’s cool, hope your relationship with her blossoms into the full family experience… Well, minus the holiday arguments… 8)

Leave a Reply

