The Jetson’s Don’t Have S*** On Me

As a young child I didn’t know a whole lot about anything (Except maybe the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles).  The only thing I was 100% confident about is that when I wanted something I wanted it NOW!!  Sounds spoiled and I can’t deny that I probably was just a little bit spoiled, but just because I wanted it doesn’t mean I got it.

Whenever a new toy or game came out I can remember begging my parents to take me to the store to get it, only to be told “maybe this weekend.”   Then when the glorious weekend appeared I was told “maybe if you’re good.”  You have no idea how many times I acted like a good boy just for the chance to get that new toy.  All around the world kids were throwing fits and getting into trouble while I sat around being good.  Quite the waste I know.

When I got older and had a ride and money of my own it still didn’t get a whole lot better.  I grew up in a town of about 4,000 people, the nearest retail store (A Wal-Mart naturally) was about 40 minutes away but it wasn’t a SuperCenter back then so stuff that interested me was limited.  I was big into video games  back then so if I wanted a new game I had to go to the 2nd nearest city about 45 minutes away, pick up said game, then drive another 45 minutes home while wistfully peering at the unopened game laying in the passenger seat.

I can remember watching an episode of the Jetsons where they ordered something and instantly it flew into their house through a tube.  As a kid I shed a single tear when I realized this was not possible.  Flash forward to the present and it essentially is.

I want to play a new game all I need to do is get on the internet, click on an icon to pay for it, and instantly it is downloading to my computer or game console.  Is there a brand new game coming out in a couple of weeks, go to Amazon, click an icon to pre-order it, and get it delivered the day it is released for FREE (Release date delivery rox!).  Or how about those movies that I love so much?  I have Netflix so all I have to do is click a button and I can stream thousands of movies instantly to my TV.

I think it is a good thing younger mean didn’t know that things were going to get this good.  I already had a hard enough time enjoying the moment and would constantly wish I could grow up faster.  Yet there is one thing that younger me didn’t realize about this future I wished for, and this same thing I have learned painfully over the last handful of years……when it is easy to buy something and get it nearly instantaneously it is very easy to empty your bank account in a matter of minutes.  So I guess I could choose to go back and have money but have to wait to get the things I want, or be poor but have the ability to get everything instantly.  This is America, the creator of instant gratification, I think you all know which one I would choose  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Ramblings

3 responses to “The Jetson’s Don’t Have S*** On Me

  1. That was a great post!!!! It is crazy how much things have changed… So much more to spend money on thats for sure!
    Take care..
    Have a wonderful day!

  2. Ahhh good ole “Gimme Gimme Gimme!” We are the land of the Gimme’s. If there is ONE commonality that this country has, it’s that we all want what we want when we want it. Sadly enough as Courtney Love once said “When I get what I want, I’ll never want it again.”. I prefer simplicity. I buy vinyl records at my local Goodwill instead of downloading MP3’s. Because once upon a time I had every song I ever wanted and all it did was take away the luster of buying new music. One of the things I noticed in your post was how descriptive you were about riding home staring at the game in the passenger seat. Wasn’t that what made it so f*cking great though?? I LOVE that feeling! Thanks or posting this. I look forward to reading more 🙂

  3. There are some things in life I really dont want ‘instant’ gratification on, but thats a tangent for a whole other blog. …

    Makes you pause to think about how its going to impact the generations to come, its not as if most folk have the greatest of attention spa. …

    . …ohhhh shiny thing.

    Peace
    &
    Dubious cookies.

Leave a Reply

