Character Crushes

The great thing about books is that you are able to go inside the mind of the characters.  A movie or TV show is more superficial in the sense that you have the characters physical appearance and their basic personality but rarely really get to know them.  In a book you can read their thoughts, you are with them during their struggles and triumphs, you get to know them on some of the most deepest levels.  Because of this it is quite possible to develop a bit of a crush on a character.  I will be the first to admit I have had my fair share of character crushes.

The first character crush I remember having was Vada Sultenfuss in the book My Girl by Laurice Elehwany.  Most people may be more aware of the movie staring Macaulay Culkin.  As a young kid I identified with her feeling out of place and found her unique home-life intriguing.  Of course for those who know the story what she ends up going through made me what to jump into the book so I could be there for her.  A great story and even better character, who I am proud to admit I still have a crush on  🙂

Of course my crushes did not end once I “grew up”.  My most recent crush is on Lisbeth Salander in The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo Trilogy.  Now this one can easily be seen as strange.  Lisbeth is a very complex character but what I loved about her is that she is an incredibly outwardly strong and capable individual who also happens to be extremely vulnerable.  To me individuals end up with this personality mix because of trauma they have had as a child.  You end up growing up quicker so you are more mature and capable, but still desire what all children desire, acceptance, protection, and love.  Not having that at a young age makes you desire it even more as an adult.  I found myself wanting to be there to protect her while also accepting she would probably also be protecting me

Alright now that I have thrown myself out there it’s your turn.  Do you have a character crush you are brave enough to admit to?


11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “Character Crushes

  1. Love the My Girl movies!

    I just posted for the 30 Day Book Challenge that the character from a book I would most like to marry would be either Mr. Darcy from P&P or Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse novels, so I suppose they both count as character crushes (although I have to admit, their on screen counterparts certainly had some influence on my interest!).

    Otherwise, I’d have to say I’ve always had a bit of a crush on Ron from the Harry Potter series.

    I’m not sure I should’ve mentioned any of these out loud! Except Mr Darcy…he’s always a respectable choice 😉

  2. My very first character crush was on Bobby Sherman’s character on “Here Come the Brides”, Jeremy. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Here_Come_the_Brides Jeremy – Even at around age 5, I thought he was adorable and wanted to marry him when I grew up. He wasn’t the typical character that all the girls fall in love with either…he stammered and wasn’t really the dashing hero type. When I actually did grow up, I evolved into a woman who, now that I read the Wikipedia article on the show, eerily resembles (personality wise, at least) Jeremy’s love interest on the show, Candy Pruitt. There must be something to that, but I need some coffee before I can attempt to figure it out. 🙂

  3. I’m with Katy, Team Eric from the Sookie Stackhouse books (and BIG time Team Eric with the True Blood shows). I also have a crush on my friend Sarah-Jane Stratford’s character Mors, from her Moonlight Brigade trilogy. Sheepishly told her about my crush on her character and she laughed and admitted that she has one on him too.

  4. I’m with your other commenter on Ron Weasely. Totally inappropriate, considering I’m old enough to be his mom! Others – Sam in the Sookie Stackhouse books (not so much the TV series). Eddard Stark in “Game of Thrones.” Johnny Marinville from “The Regulators.” I could so go on – you aren’t alone : ).

  5. There’s so much details that a book has that a movie can’t provide. A book also awakens the person’s imagination, makes him think, makes him feel in ways that a movie can’t. wonderful post.

  6. Sherlock Holmes. There’s no sexier trait than uber-intelligence.
    Some of the ladies here mentioned Ron Weasley. Really? I prefer those twin brothers of his… 😀

  7. I’m going for Elizabeth Bennet (but not Keira Knightley!), especially after Katy above accounts for Mr. Darcy.

    Plus, Ms. Bennet shows up in modern times in “Lost in Austen,” available for dating.

  8. I was completely smitten with Faramir from Lord of the Rings. His character in the film was a bit wet-behind-the-ears and not very well filled out, but the literary one, goodness – I’m still gutted that men like that don’t exist in real life!

    As a child, Tin Tin. More recently, Yossarian from Catch 22.

  9. amaranthmine

    I’m with shionamachinery–Faramir from Lord of the Rings with his quiet, reserved demeanor and bookish intelligence… Every bookworm’s dream.

    To this day I have a crush on Fëanor from Tolkien’s Silmarillion.He was a tragic anarachist figure with such raw belief in his cause, it made him attractive in a fallen hero light. If only…

Leave a Reply

