My Fantasy Football Draft Made Me A Better Writer

Or at least that is what I am telling myself.  I had my very first live Fantasy Football Draft last night and needless to say after it was over I came home and collapsed.  Something about sitting around a bar for 2+ hrs with plenty to eat & drink seems to take a lot out of me.  Overall it was a really great experience but I have to admit I really do think it has made me a better writer.

Before I explain let me tell you a little something about myself, I’m anti-social.  Not in a mean “Stay Off My Lawn” kind of way, more in the “Oh my god there are a lot of people around me I feel very uncomfortable and am starting to feel really sick now they are starting to talk to me but I don’t know what to say” kind of way.  🙂  I have mild social anxiety.  It is far from debilitating, I just get very uncomfortable if I am around a lot of people in a small room.  Or I’m around a large group of people I don’t know.  Or there are a lot of people out of my eye-sight.  I can be in those situations and most people don’t know that I am uncomfortable, but I am.

Now the problem is that this affects my writing.  Since I tend to limit my social interactions to the workplace or very small social gatherings I can miss the intricacies of human interaction.  I have always struggled to create what I felt is realistic dialogue and in my writing I try to write around it whenever possible.  And I’ll admit I believe it is because of my avoidance of social gatherings.

Another thing that it hurts is creating interesting characters.  Some of my favorite characters are ones that the creator will admit was inspired by someone they know.  So by limiting the amount of people I interact with I risk missing out on a truly great character.

So by going out with a group of friends, having far too much to drink, eating way too much greasy food,  and staying out way too late for a work night, wasn’t simply for my own personal enjoyment.  It was a sacrifice I was willing to make in order to become a better writer and achieve my dream.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

10 Comments

Filed under Writing

10 responses to “My Fantasy Football Draft Made Me A Better Writer

  1. Woah – I feel exactly the same way! Whenever I feel uncomfortable with people, I remind myself that everything I experience can be used for writing material. It actually helps me deal with my social anxiety.

  2. That was a great post… heehee wasn’t sure were you were going… turned out great… HOPE YOUR HEAD doesnt hurt today… Did you scream get ya… I am so glad you faced it and went out… and here is a tip… I love how you write! Have a super headache free day! Woot! Woot!

  3. I really related to your description of social anxiety, I feel exactly the same way, but hey, no one seems to notice. Alcohol, that’s why we’re all using it, works like a charm.
    I wouldn’t worry about missing out on the dialogue, most fictional dialogue isn’t ‘real’ dialogue anyway. Have a look at John Irving’s The Hotel New Hampshire. Great fictional dialogue – but certainly not ‘real’.
    Not really.

    • Self-medicating is a wonderful thing isn’t it 🙂
      I will have to check that out. Dialogue is one of those things I have still very insecure about in my writing.

  4. Congrats on pushing through your uncomfortableness! I have the same problem, and if I could, I would stay at home and only interact with my family. But, like you, I realize there is an issue and I make myself push through it, sweaty palms, thumping heart and all. That’s why I started going different places to write and documenting it on my blog. I’ve even gotten several writing ideas and character sketches from it. Yay! Let’s keep punching social anxiety in the face, it will eventually get the idea and leave! 🙂

  5. I’ve always been shy, but it wasn’t until some trauma I went through a hand full of years back that I started to have issues going out. Truth is, I love being home most of the time, so I’m lucky in that regard. I don’t go out a lot, but I am thankful for times prior to the trauma that I was out there more. None the less, movies are a good way to work on dialog as well, especially old one’s. It wasn’t until I started staying in more that I actually had the time to watch some old Cary Grant movies, etc, he is a Comic Genius. I agree with the comment above, you are a very good writer. On a different note, I’ve been doing Fantasy Football for the last 4 years or so, just got my first Team, my second one with be with a League I created myself for Family and Friends. Good Luck this year!

  6. amaranthmine

    Another introvert here! It is a bit of a paradox that in order to succeed at the very solitary, imaginative endeavor of writing, you have to live your own life. I’m glad you got a night out! Written dialogue is definitely a challenge. Right now I’m working on editing a piece with lots of modern teen dialogue–fitting in enough ‘likes’ and ‘y’knows’ to be believable, but not overwhelming, has been the difficulty for me!

  7. I could definitely relate to this. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

