The Robopocalypse NonReview

I don’t do reviews because I do not feel I have the knowledge to tell someone accurately if they should or should not read something.  With that said sometimes I like to talk about books I have read and share my feelings about the story.  So without further ado here is my nonreview

By Daniel Wilson

I decided to get this book after I heard that Steven Speilberg had signed on to direct a feature adaption.  I know horrible reason to decide to read a book but the combination that Speilberg was interested in it plus the premise meant I had to give it a try.  For those that don’t know Robopocalypse tells the story of what happens when an artificial intelligence sets out to destroy mankind.  It starts from the creation of the AI, to the beginning, ultimately the end of the war from various viewpoints.

First off I will agree it does share a lot of similarities with Max Brooks World War Z: A Oral History of the Zombie War, which is also being made into a movie starring Brad Pitt.  I think I enjoyed World War Z a little more, but at the same time I appreciated that Robocalypse follows the same group of characters throughout the story, whereas World War Z is more a series of connected stories set in the same universe.

Usually I can tell how much I enjoy a book based on where I read it and how long it takes.  🙂 I always read right before bed whether the book be fascinating or something I’m just trying to get through.  If I read during my breaks at work that means I’m really into the book.  And if I read at home in the middle of the day then I am truly in love with the book.  With Robopocalypse I read it during work and “considered” reading it while at home, but due to finishing it in about 6 days I didn’t have the opportunity.  So take that how you will.

If you are a fan of World War Z you have to check this thing out.  Also if you are interested in any kind of survival or war chronicles type of book then I would also recommend.  If Steven Speilberg does end up turning this into a movie I will definitely show up and inevitably be disappointed that it is not as good as the book!

12 Comments

Filed under NonReviews

12 responses to “The Robopocalypse NonReview

  1. I’ll be picking this up after I finished the Diary of Anne Frank! (Sad, isn’t it? I’ve read bits and pieces in elementary school, and I know her entire story, but I’ve never actually sat down and read the book from front to back.) I have read and enjoyed World War Z, so this may be for me. Thanks for the post!

  2. Hi, taureanw. I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award and linked to Nothing to Read Here in my post today. Congratulations! Instructions for what to do are in the post too. I enjoy your blog, I hope you get some traffic from my post, and I hope you are game to participate. Would love to know what blogs you nominate…

  3. Sylvie

    I’m looking forward to reading World War Z, it’s been on my “to read” list for a while. I might just have to check out this novel as well… Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! 🙂

  4. You, my good fellow, have accurately described the options for the potential end of mankind.
    Zombies or Robots

    Choose wisely!

    What do you plan on reading next?

    • If I had a choice I choose the Zombie apocalypse. It just seems like I’d have a better choice to survive & if I don’t end up surviving them I get to walk around and eat brains all day, so that’s pretty sweet.

      Right now I am reading Clash Of Kings by George R.R. Martin. Usually not a fan of these type of books but a friend recommended & I’m enjoying it!

  5. The movie is never as good as the book, even if the book wasn’t very good. And your non-review was quite good–I learned more about you than the book and you didn’t give away any “spoilers.” Well done!

  6. Spielberg is a great reason to read a book, he’s a great Director and Visionary.

    DarkJade-

  7. Well, crud.

    A couple weeks ago, I awakened from a horrible nightmare. I awakened Ba.D. and described my nightmare, following which he said, “Hon, you do not want to read the book I’m reading right now. Your dream is that book.”

    That book? Robopocalypse.

    Based on how horrifying that nightmare was, I was pretty certain I wouldn’t be changing my mind on this point, but . . . but . . . World War Z! My second or third blog entry (“SDCC, zombies & presidential vampire hunters“) addressed how as a new mom the only SDCC panel I would relinquish my then quite little son for was the zombie panel with Max Brooks.

    I may just have to revisit my stance on this not-reviewed book of yours. Darn.

Leave a Reply

