How To Write 540 Novels

My writing habits have always been a little lacking but it is something that I continually strive to work on.  I always like reading about the writing habits of authors I admire to see what works for them.  I recently finished an article from the Writer Mag that talked about Prolific Novelists and their habits that literally left me with my mouth wide open in amazement.

Robert J Randisi has written(and published) over 540 novels.  That is not a typo……….540 novels.  I don’t even think I have 540 story ideas @ this point in time.  This is how he described his writing routine.   Get in the office between noon & 1.  Write until 5 pm, have dinner, write again until 8, take a 2 hour nap, then start writing again from 11 pm until 4 or 5 in the morning!  He then wakes back up @ 11 am & starts all over again.   He states that he writes one book in the morning & a 2nd in the afternoon.

That is production beyond anything I will ever achieve.  Even if my primary job was writing my mind would have burnt out long before I got around to working on book number two.   Luckily the rest of the writers had a writing habit that was a little more realistic, but their days still centered around writing.

This got me thinking about what would be the best writing routine for me.  Ideally I would say that I would wake up around 8 (that is sleeping in for me), have some breakfast, go on an “inspirational” walk, and be in front of my computer by 10.  I would then write until noon, have lunch, then write again until 2 or 3.  Now with a little one on the way I know this won’t be feasible, but again this is in a perfect world.

My question to you all would be, If writing was your primary job, what would your routine be?

20 Comments

Filed under Writing

20 responses to “How To Write 540 Novels

  1. Well, as my Admin/Marketing Job is Part Time, and I work from home… Writing is kind of my Main Job… I wake on average about 8am, and probably write until about 10am. I have some breakfast, and then write again until maybe 12 or 1 and take a break. I have some lunch, and maybe start to write again at about 3 until maybe 4 or 5. I then take a break for 3 or 4 hours, and maybe write a bit more before I go to sleep, around midnight if I’m lucky.

    DarkJade-

    • It sounds like you already have the writing routine down. Do you give lessons 🙂

      • lol, well for me, it’s a lot about timing… This is a good time in my life to be Writing a lot… And this last two or so months is the first time where I actually tried to Write everyday… It’s basically the reason I created my Blog, to get in the habit of Writing, plus get some feedback in order to get some perspective on how my Writing is being received.

        DarkJade-

    • I’m attempting to work on a book of essays; my blog is giving me practice. I write better spontaneously. It’s hard for me to stay in routine because I will forced to do it. Writing is freedom to me so I like to write as I’m inspired to do so, which has been alot lately. Thanks for the post…I needed to think about this.

  2. OMG! Now I want to take a peak at Randisi’s work! I can tell you that if I tried to write 2 novels per day, they would be worthy of lining some of the finer bird cages, and perhaps a hampster cage or two. I wouldn’t even know where to generate that many story lines. I’m floored!
    I tend to do my best writing in the morning. While I sometimes try to write in the evenings as well, my writing schedule revolves around my son’s school schedule, and my work schedule. It varies from day to day.
    In my mind, I’d LOVE to be able to write full time, but the reality is, some of my BEST stuff comes from my work experiences. I don’t think I’ll ever be in a place in my life where I’m NOT working outside my home. My job affects my writing and my writing is affected by my job. 😉

    • I took a peak at one of his books…not bad. I don’t know how he does it! Bah!!! 🙂

    • I haven’t tried reading any of his work but I will admit the amount of books he has written lessens my urge to! Typically the authors that write 1 book every year or two are the ones I enjoy the most. So I’m right there with you, I have NO desire to even write half that many books 🙂

  3. What I wouldn’t give for an article or a book that allowed you to answer a series of questions and perform some writing and mind-mapping exercises to figure out your best method. I’ve been writing a book series for the last six years and only by trial and error have I found that a linear writing in a book, wasn’t working for me. When I tried to organize my scenes by writing them on cue cards, that was only a slight improvement. Now I have a large cardboard, cut from a flat screen tv box with thumbtacks and post-it notes with visual sketches of my scenes, which for now seems to be working. I’ve made more progress in the last six months than I have in the last six years.
    Does anyone have a good book that would help me figure out more methods that would work for me in my creative writing? greatly appreciated, thanx

  4. My only response is — why would I want to write 540 books? I took a quick look at Randisi’s book on Amazon, and they’re strictly formula. In other words, ephemera. Undoubtedly, they make him a lot of money. If money is your first concern, churning out formula novels in a popular genre is the way to go. If you want to write anything worth reading more than once, two or three novels a year is probably as much as you’ll be able to manage, no matter how much time you have free for writing.

    • Hi there. I get up at around 7.30 a.m., feed the cats and make a huge mug of black tea with lemon and honey, write for one to one and a half hours with all phones, radio, etc. off, walk for 1 hour, have morning tea (more tea) and read for an hour, then edit online for one hour, what I wrote the day before.
      If I’m working on someone else’s novel, I eat lunch and then read/edit their work on HC for around 2 hours, organise the kitchen, have dinner and watch TV or read a published novel until 10. I don’t do a lot of hours in the day UNLESS I’m simply redrafting; I’ve found that more than 2 hours, even first thing in the morning, the quality of the work tails off, the connection, whatever it is, seems to fade. What I have found is that that first hour is critical for getting down first draft material, what Chuck Palahniuk called ‘the vomit draft’. But everyone’s different, I never wrote a word while my children were young, I couldn’t. I’m obessive, and I was obsessed with them. Good luck, whatever way you do it – and above all, enjoy yourself. DdeV

  5. I would wake up sometime between 10 and 11AM, do a few chores around the house, sit down and have brunch anywhere between 12-1PM and write until about 4-5PM. Squeeze some exercise, make/get dinner, write a bit more whilst waiting for husband to get home. Eat and spend some quality time with said hubby. When he goes to sleep at 10-11PM at night, I’ll write until about 2-3 in the morning. Sleep until 10AM, and the cycle repeat all over again.

  6. Being retired, writing/blogging is my primary job. I start at about 8:00 am most days (on insomnia day, a lot earlier) and write or read/comment until noon (with frequent breaks for tea and to do small tasks around the house). I eat and start back in for another 4 hours. Minus the breaks, I put in a solid 6 hours of writing and reading/commenting time 6 days a week on average. If that estimate is off, it’s an underestimate. I also spend my not-at-the-computer hours thinking about what I’m going to write. I’m obsessed. 😉

  7. Heather Null

    Before my own little one was born, I would start writing around 10:00 am (I haven’t had a “real” job for several years, which meant I could choose any schedule I liked) and moodle around until 2:00 or 3:00, usually getting down a thousand words or so, on a good day. Surprisingly, I get a lot more done since my boy came along — I get so little writing time that I cherish it and work as quickly as possible during his nap time (usually between about 11:30-2:00). I really thought having a kid would force me to put my writing on the back burner for a while, but instead I see it as something I do for myself every day in order to keep sane. Hopefully your baby will be a good napper and give you time to write, too.

  8. The thought of ever having a writing routine seems completely alien to me, now that I work full-time and leave the house just after 7am and return 12 long hours later. These days I’m lucky if I get a total of 2 hours a week, and I grab precious minutes during my lunch hour and weirdly if I’m ever on a train and scribble notes down into my blackberry.
    In an ideal world, I’d probably get up at 6ish (always an early riser) go for that same inspirational walk, breakfast, then start about 9ish. Break for lunch, maybe another walk then back to it. I also sometimes have fits of late night writing if I get some peace and quiet.
    Also ideally, I’d be in a cottage in Cornwall overlooking the sea but that’s taking it all way too far isn’t it? 😉

  9. I’ve recently discovered that I am a morning writer. (And I’ve only recently discovered this because my sleeping habits have only recently transitioned from lazy teenager to (semi) responsible adult, and I now wake up before noon.) If I let my ideas run ramped through my head all day without writing them down, they’re too tired to reveal themselves by the time the sun goes down. So, in my perfect world, where I wouldn’t have to wait tables or do the grocery shopping, I’d wake up around 9AM, grab a Chai from Starbucks, come back, sit down at my computer and write until about 12, have some lunch, write again until 3 or so, give my mind a bit of a rest, then go at it again until about 8 or 9. Then I’d just have to watch The Walking Dead or American Horror Story, or whichever of my favorite shows is on TV that night.

    540 novels….my head would have exploded before I was finished the second!

  10. Pingback: Fun Links I’d Like To Share | The Williamson Vampires

  11. tereseh

    If I was a writing dynamo like Randisi I’d probably get up quite early. I like the silent hours of the morning, watching the sun rise above the rooftops and the world come to life. My mind is also quite empty from the night and less pestered by trivial stuff like work and food and cleaning the apartment (I simply can’t clean at 5 am, my neighbors would go bonkers). In the late night it sometimes works, but usually I’m tired from the day, my head buzzing, and facebook seem more interesting than the manuscript.
    So I’d get up at about 4-5 am and write until I was dying from hunger. Have breakfast and then continue until the world wakes up. Go for a walk, have lunch, grocery shop, make dinner, write again until starvation looms over me and then eat dinner and only after dinner I’d be allowed to turn on the internethub and go online and connect to the rest of the world. That would be my dream. 🙂

  12. denisegabbard

    I work from home full time— I write and also do a lot of marketing work for small businesses, and the kids are grown, so I only have to make sure I feed the dogs and get their walks and potty breaks in.
    I usually wake up around 8 am, grab some coffee and cereal, then check out my Facebook page and email for about half an hour, and get to work about 8:30 or so. When it is nice outside, I work till about 2 pm then get outdoors to catch some sun or ride my bike, and do some more work after dinner. On cold or rainy days, I’ll work till noon, take a break for lunch and clean the top layer of dust off the house, then work another five or six hours– and relax with a good book after dinner. I can tell you that I’ve had to force myself to stay away from Facebook, Google+, and Twitter– major time suckers… cannot get anything done with them on. I use Strict Pomodoro (a Google extension) which blocks access to them, and also provides an incentive to work till the timer buzzes.

Leave a Reply

