A Week (Or Two) Without Writing

 

As the rest of the world gets its Write On I have to admit I have been on a bit of a writing break.  There are a lot of reasons some valid (most not) but it is something I have defintely been missing.  Writers are strange creatures.  For most of us writing is both a blessing and a curse.  It is something that provides us with infinite pleasure & when we attempt to get our work published, infinite frustration.  With that said writing is simply a part of who we are, take it away and we are less then what we were.

As I have in the past I would like to let you all know what has been kick starting my muse.  If you haven’t seen the movie Crazy Stupid Love you must see it now.  Seriously stop reading now & go watch it.  I’ll include the trailer to give you all a taste but the trailer really doesn’t do it justice.  For those of you who have already seen it you already understand.

 http://ahref=

As always I want to thank you all of you will follow along with me & provide me with hours of post-reading joy.  Until then!

Follow me on Twitter @TaureanWriter

11 Comments

Filed under Writing

11 responses to “A Week (Or Two) Without Writing

  1. Hey, everyone needs a break from their craft every once in a while. When I take breaks, I sort of feel guilty. But then I remember, it doesn’t mean we love the process any less. 🙂 I’m NaNoWriMo-ing this month, and my head feels like it is about to explode….and it’s only day 8.

    I’ve heard great things about that movie. I’ll have to check it out!

  2. I’m feeling like I really need a break, too. Maybe it’s the time of year when we’re supposed to slow down and reflect. I don’t know, but we’re not the only ones…

  3. FYI I don’t think that Link works, at least it didn’t for me.

    I actually took a 4 1/2 year Break from Writing, unintentionally, so I’ve been basically Writing like a Mad Man since August 18th, when I started my Main Blog.

    On occasion, I do feel/have moments of “Saturation”, but there are several Shows I’m watching right now to give me Breaks. “The Good Wife”, “Harry’s Law”, “Blue Bloods”, “Grimm”, “Once Upon a Time”, “House”, “Parenthood”, and yes, even “Terra Nova”.

    Wow, that’s more T.V. then I think I’ve ever watched, however I must tell you, I love the Break… As I have Three Blogs going at the moment, and so I Write a lot… Sitting back and watching some other Writer (‘s) do the work is like Taking a Vacation, lol

    I also Love watching Films… But, my Writing always Pulls me Right back

    DarkJade-

  4. Crazy Stupid Love is definitely a good movie and one that has given me inspiration also.

    Great post and don’t worry about your break from writing. We all need that sometimes,. 🙂

  5. I’ve also been on a writing hiatus for the past 2-3 weeks – a combination of full-time work and social events gearing up and getting in the way…
    Like you, I feel guilty too; it’s kind of like abandoning a child, or a pet 😦 But you do need a break sometimes, and when you’re ready to dive in to your writing again, you’ll write with fresh eyes/mind, with renewed energy, and hopefully you’ve fallen more in love with your writing passion 🙂

  6. I take breaks when writing feels like a whore. I don’t want my craft to become another duty I feel I “must” get done by the end of the day. It usually means I need to step back.

    I am doing NaNoWriMo, started a new blog a week ago, school, work, social life, and possibly starting two more projects (webcomic and podcast). It’s a great and wonderful life, but I take breaks, usually on weekends with the boyfriend.

    As for Crazy. Stupid. Love., it was EXQUISITE. Emma Stone, Steve Carrell, and Ryan Gosling were all great. Emma’s character was small compared to her other roles, but she shined in the few scenes she had, especially with Ryan. Ryan showed me he can actually act and make fun of himself (it seemed like he was showing the douche side to his Notebook character). Finally, Steve didn’t make me feel uncomfortable. At times, when he does comedy, he makes weird faces, or he uses humor to get away from producing emotions. In this role, Steve really gives you a heartfelt performance. And let’s not forget Julianne Moore.

  7. Slacker! *raises fist*

    Pump out the pages, word monkey, TYPE I SAY! TYPE!

  8. thanks for the comment! I appreciate it. All the best to you and your dreams as well!

  9. inkspeare

    “writing is simply a part of who we are, take it away and we are less then what we were.”

    This part is so true, you nailed it.

  10. Writing certainly is the most meaningful part of my life. I try to do it daily, but sometimes….well, you know.

    Now off to watch the movie!

  11. I understand- Crazy Stupid Love blew me away, such a good laugh out loud film. Taking in quality movies and tv shows and books is the best type of writing break, because even thiough your playing hookie, your still watching/reading someone else’s creative baby, it’s motivational. That’s my excuse and I am sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

