My Typical Saturday

My Saturdays are nothing if not predictable.  Since I have shared many things with you all I felt it was appropriate to share with you what a typical Saturday is like in my world.

7:30 am:  Wake up with a big smile on my face.  It’s Saturday.  Endless possibilities.  So many things I can do, no requirements or mandates to do any of them.  I promptly go to the computer and check out my morning news

9:00 am:  My beautiful wife finally stirs from her seemingly endless slumber.  We say our good mornings, she makes me a cup of wonderful coffee & proceeds to make the best breakfast I have had since last Sat.

10:30 am:  After taking a shower & brushing my teeth I am ready to take on the world, which on a Saturday means watch College Gameday until the games start

Noon:  By now I have gotten bored with watching college football and wonder, yet again, why I get so excited for something that only entertains me for a few hours.  I come to the realization that half the day is almost over and I haven’t been that productive.  I brush it aside with the knowledge that I still have the 2nd half of the day to get some writing done, complete some yard projects, get my work-out on, and work on my man-cave downstairs.

2:30 pm:  I happen to look at my watch and realize that I have been sitting on my ass watching college football since noon.  I curse myself, grab my laptop, and plop down in my man-cave to get some writing down

4:00 pm:  My laptop remains off & sitting on my lap as I continue to watch college football while also thinking about all the things I want to do with my man-cave.  Again the realization that the day is coming to an end scrolls across my mind, only this time I get a brief glimpse of the depression that is in my future if I fail to complete at least some of the things I had planned for today.

6:00 pm:  My wife is almost finished with dinner and wants to watch a movie while we eat.  I can no longer start any of the yard projects as I will not have any time to complete them.  Also this crosses off working on the man-cave because what is the point of starting a project when we are soon going to be in there watching a movie?  I could still get some writing completed or at the very least get my workout on so I will have an appetite for dinner.

6:30 pm:  Dinner is ready.  I have spent the last 30 minutes pondering upon what I was going to do before it was ready.  On an unrelated note college football is playing in the background.

9:00 pm:  The movie is over.  The day is essentially over.  I fall into a deep depression knowing that I have not accomplished a single thing for the entirety of the day.  My wife grows tired with my depression and goes to bed soon after.  I sit in the living room feeling sorry for myself.  College football plays on the TV, I only half watch it.

11:00 pm:  College football is no longer on TV.  Within the next hour I have completed a project in my man-cave, and completed a couple of chapters on my WIP.  I’m still partially in my depression but in the back of my mind I have hope that next Saturday will be different.

I’m still uncertain what it is the prevents me from getting work done.  This is something that I think I will continue to struggle with for many more years.  Or to be more accurate from August to January every year  🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “My Typical Saturday

  1. Sounds like my typical weekend! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who gets depressed when 9 or 10PM roll up and I haven’t managed to write a single word.

  2. Gosh, this is the kind of Saturday I dream of (although I am a woman). I would love less drama, more pondering in my weekends. Don’t worry – words don’t get written on my weekends either. Well, sometimes they do, but not as many as I would like and usually way too late in the day to make any sense.

  3. What would you do if the electricity went out? Or (GASP!) if there was a real players strike? Maybe help with dinner on the grill… 😉

  4. Need some more writing in there.

  5. Maybe you need that break if you’re working 5 days a week, Taurean. Some part of you obviously thinks so. I wouldn’t fight it. Later, when the baby comes along, you won’t have time to feel bad anyway 🙂
    Best,
    Danielle de Valera

  6. RanuJanu

    You’ve actually been productive just by simply keeping your brain engaged. However, my advice for you in order to get anything done is to just focus on that one thing that you want to accomplish. Computers are a distraction especially for writers, so if you have to get something done that doesn’t involve your laptop I suggest leaving it at home or somewhere you can’t reach it and get your to do list DONE! You would be surprised by how much you can get done within half an hour if you just focus in on that one thing.

  7. I wish I had a beautiful wife who made me coffee and dinner. Sounds like a good Saturday! Even though you could have got a bit more writing done. Procrastination is easy 🙂

  8. Janece

    I wish I had a wife, too, that made me coffee, breakfast and dinner! LOL (Although I do have a terrific guy I live with that BBQs for me now and again, and sometimes helps with the dishes. I love that)

    Great read!

  9. Dude, you had me laughing out loud with this one. I can so relate. I’ve been way behind on my blog reading and am trying to catch up a bit this morning. But I have work to get to and I’m realizing that my Saturday hours are starting to slip away from me just the same. Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

