Still Loving My Kindle Fire

As some of you may know I bought a Kindle Fire when it first came out & was just wanting to let you all know how it’s working out.  First off let me just say that I love it!  There wasn’t really a definitive reason as to why I wanted one, but I thought some of the features sounded interesting so I grabbed it up.

Let me get the negatives out-of-the-way first.  I do wish the screen was an inch or two wider.  When reading magazines & some webpages it can be pain to have to zoom in closer or slide over to read the rest of the text.  Not a huge deal but in a perfect world it would be 1-2 inches wider.

Last negative is that the touch screen can be touchy at times.  I have had cases where it was either too sensitive or not sensitive enough when I was trying to turn a page or play a game.  With that said in the few weeks I have had it I have experienced this frustration less than 10x.

Now on to the GOOD stuff!  The thing is crazy light as it seems to be just slightly heavier than a paperback book.  The appstore is great & everyday gives away a free app.  This may not seem like much but some of the free apps are pretty cool.  The battery life is decent & despite playing games on it in the afternoon, surfing the web for a few hours every evening & then reading for about an hour at night, I only have to charge it when I go to bed.

Thanks to it I have started to tackle the Twitter-verse a little more.  As everyone who follows me knows I am more of a “tweet 1x a day person” vs a “tweet every 15 minutes kind of guy”, but I have been spending more time checking out other people’s tweets & finding interesting people.

Like most things I could live without it, but I really don’t want to.  It’s a great mini-portal to the internet & gives me the ability to keep up with my writing pals.  If any of you have taken the Fire plunge let me know I would like to see how everyone else is enjoying it!

@TheTAWilliams

 

6 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

6 responses to “Still Loving My Kindle Fire

  1. I very much want one, or an Apple IPad… If/when I ever get one, I shall let you know.

    There are one to three times a night I’ll be watching T.V. and wonder about an Actor on a show, or something else, and would love to be able to just surf up the info. real quick.

    On a rare occasion I’ll check after the show on my Laptop, but like I say, I would love to check it right then.

    DarkJade-

  2. Good to know that it’s working out for you. I think the Fire is going to be my next big purchase. Right now I’m using my droid phone for the same thing, so I’m having a hard time justifying it, besides screen size. Even still, I REALLY want one. Thanks for the update and have a great day!

  3. Thanks for blazing the way, Taurean, I know I’d like one. Good to get some first hand feedback on it.
    Best,
    Danielle

  4. I bought one for my guy. He love it and I’m just a little bit jealous. He spends WAY TOO much time with that thing. And I thought I was supposed to be the love of his life… 😐

  5. Hmmm I want one but I think my fiance would enjoy it. The trick is how do I get her something like this and get her to believe it is for her and not me?

    I have considered other tablets, like the new Asus Transformer Prime (that is what it is actually called).

    I have an original kindle and use it often. I think she would like it. Hmmmm.

  6. I can remember my old Commodore 64. We’ve come a long way since then! I haven’t taken the plunge yet, too may bills. But they just keep getting faster and better, so waiting isn’t a bad thing. Glad that you are enjoying it!! : )

Leave a Reply

