Guilty Pleasures – The Wizard

According to the always reliable Wikipedia Guilty Pleasure is defined as  something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt for enjoying it. The “guilt” involved is sometimes simply fear of others discovering one’s lowbrow or otherwise embarrassing tastes.   From time to time I will share with you some of my guilty pleasures.

THE WIZARD

The Wizard is about a boy who runs away from home with his little brother, who happens to be a gaming prodigy, and ultimately signs him up to play in a gaming tournament.  This movie was basically a giant advertisement for Nintendo, when I watched the movie I was a huge Nintendo fan, what does this mean?  It means that when I watched this movie I was in HEAVEN.  I remember watching this movie over & over & over again, to the point where I probably should have been institutionalized.

I actually watched this movie again a couple of years ago & I’m not ashamed to say I fell right back in love with it.  Watching Fred Savage’s character run away from home with his brother & have complete & total freedom blew my mind.  Watching the Power Glove get used for the first time & getting my first glimpse of Super Mario Bros 3 instantly had me harassing my mother until she got both of these for me (Super Mario Bros 3 just as good as advertised, the Power Glove on the other hand caused me to attend therapy sessions to get over my disappointment).

The feeling the movie created of this secret gaming culture that kids all knew about but parents were oblivious to was very real & something I felt apart of.

The family dealing with the loss of a family member also opened my eyes to a type of loss I had never really knew existed at the time.  When i watched this part again it did tug at my heart-strings all over again.

And then the closing shot of the characters in the back of the truck heading home, everything is fine, cue music, fade to black was perfection to me at the time.  Even now hearing the song they play at the end causes me to smile just a little (I have the song on my Ipod, don’t judge).

For those who watched & loved the movie I tip my hat to you.  Even better I know that if i was to say:  I Love The Powerglove…its so bad.   We would be able to share a memory together of something that was so bad, but so very great at the same time!

Follow me on twitter @TheTAWilliams

7 Comments

Filed under Guilty Pleasures

7 responses to “Guilty Pleasures – The Wizard

  1. I absolutely love the Wizard. By the way, what’s the name of the song at the end?

    Also, I love the end song of Little Monsters too. 🙂

  2. Looks like a Cute Flick… I’ll have to check it out… I kinda missed the Nintendo Era, it was Atari 2600 for me Primarily, and Intelivision… But I totally understand what you mean, for me it was the Original TRON… Scenes in the Arcade were just Awesome… I used to actually play the TRON Video Game in Arcades… I was more of the Arcade Era, than the Console Era, but I was very jealous of the people that were out there playing Super Mario Brothers, and always kinda wished I could Partake… Perhaps watching this Movie will help Bring me in… As the Preview already did

    Kids Breaking away from their Parents Etc is pretty huge, especially when you’re a Kid… Like the Movie Stand By Me, loved it

    And, War Games… And like you mentioned before, The Never Ending Story

    Thanks for Sharing Taurean

    DarkJade-

    • My parents got an Atari when I was really young. I remember playing ET for hours on end, which is pretty much accepted as the worst video game of all time. But the Nintendo & Sega CD stole more hours of my childhood then I would like to admit!

  3. The 80’s, one part awesome and one part needs to go die in a car fire.

    • I cannot disagree with your statement…..but I still hate you for making it

      I still love musical montages, hair that was 2x the size of the person, and freeze framing the end of a movie in a moment of elation.

      80’s style baby!

  4. I just watched this recently. My brother and I both love this film. We used to watch it over and over as kids. We were obsessed with Nintendo, too.

Leave a Reply

