The Beginning Of My Self-Publishing Journey

If you were to click on a file on my computer labeled “Story Ideas” you would find page after page of – well I’m sure the file name gives it away.  The point is that I have been writing seriously since around 2003 and during that time I have started, stopped, began, ended, created, destroyed many universes and story ideas.  Some of them I have fallen in love with while others I have loathed and took great joy in destroying.

So when I finally decided I was going the self-publishing route I had to decide what I was going to actually self-publish.  Despite a million different story ideas all screaming out to be fully realized I decided to come up with something totally new.  Why you may ask (please humor me and ask)?  Because I decided to write a series.

Why would someone who has never published anything in his life decide to go a route that would require him to publish several things all within a reasonable amount of time?  For several reasons, one of which is that it’s something I have always wanted to do, but the final nail-in-the-coffin reasons is that I wanted/hoped to create a fan base of people who intimately cared for a group of characters I created and looked forward to their future adventures.

So what story idea did I concoct to turn into a series?  Well for that you will have to wait for my next post.  And not because I am trying to tease you or anything as interesting as that, you see the more time I spend writing blogs is less time I spend writing the actual series.  But if you would like to believe I am playing coy, and find that more interesting for that matter, then please continue to think of me as a teaser of things you don’t know anything about let alone have enough information to determine if you are even vaguely interested in.

Back to the grind and until next time!

@TheTAWilliams

2 Comments

Filed under The Book

2 responses to “The Beginning Of My Self-Publishing Journey

  1. Best of luck in your journey, I look forward to following along.

  2. Good luck with your series. I look forward to seeing your concept evolve. I’ve gone down a similar path in that I’ve started a crime noir serial on my website. I do plan to publish a series of books from it. Something I’ve done that you may want to consider is that I’ve written out loose plots for the first three books. This way I’ll have an general idea of the direction I’m going without squashing creativity. Good luck and have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

