Self-Publishing – How Ya Gonna Do It?

Self-Publishing is a series of posts that follows my desperate attempts at developing, writing, and eventually self-publishing my own book.  Follow along if you dare, or if you’re just really bored.

I established the story idea previously but as most would-be-writers know a good story doesn’t do you any good if you don’t have a way to send it out to the masses (or in my case friends & family).  I searched long and hard to find a publishing platform that suited my needs, and by that I mean I decided to use the most popular platform, Kindle Direct Publishing.

With the publishing platform out of the way I had to decide the best way to go about releasing my book into the wild.  One piece of advice that I took to heart is to publish more than one book.  I was told if you release a book and people like it they are going to look for more of your work.  If that single book is the only thing you have available there is a good chance you will lose the readers interest before you can develop something else.  At first I thought this was crazy talk but when I went back through my reading library I found quite a few author’s whose work I loved but had not heard of in awhile.  Sure enough when I checked there were several new books available (some of which had been available for years) that I had not followed up on.

So as I type this both the first and second book in my End-Of-The-World series (Not the actually title) are finished and I’m starting a rough outline for the third book.  My hope is that people will enjoy the first one enough to immediately check out the second and hopefully be willing to wait around while I put the finishing touches on the 3rd book.

Only time will tell but I just wanted to give you a quick insight into my publishing strategy.

@TheTAWilliams

6 Comments

Filed under The Book

6 responses to “Self-Publishing – How Ya Gonna Do It?

  1. Do you follow the guys at Self Publishing Podcast? They are doing this great project right now called Fiction Unboxed. It’s really inspirational.

  2. Great to hear how others go about the self-publishing path! 🙂 Great post.

  3. Very imformative blog, thanks for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Self-Publishing – At The Eve Of Launch | Nothing To Read Here

Leave a Reply

