Self-Publishing – The Covers

Self-Publishing is a series of posts that follows my desperate attempts at developing, writing, and eventually self-publishing my own book.  Follow along if you dare, or if you’re just really bored.

We all know how important a cover can be.  I know the saying don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but I will admit that when I am scrolling through hundreds of books one of the ways I narrow down what I want to check out further is a good looking cover.  I have read great books that have had horrible covers & horrible books with great covers, but the need to stick out is important.

I used the website Fiverr.com

This is a site where everything starts at $5 and you can find someone to do pretty much anything.  I located an individual named Jimmy Gibbs and four days later I had this…

After The Event

And

The Remnants

If you’re looking for someone to design your cover I would recommend this guy.  I gave a brief description of what I wanted, he allowed to pick an image and presto!

With a cover selected for both of my books there was one last thing I wanted to do in order to stand out from the crowd…

@TheTAWilliams

11 Comments

Filed under The Book

11 responses to “Self-Publishing – The Covers

  1. Wow, both of those look cool. I especially like the first one.

  2. I like both of them. I really like the black and white look of covers. They remind me of gritty detective novels. I also like that they look like they go together. I really want to know what “the event” is =D

    I like fiverr because you can get really cool stuff for dirt cheap. The fiverr cover I’d originally gotten was really awesome. That’s why I don’t understand how people say they can’t afford a “professional” cover. it’s like 5 bucks, if you can’t afford to spend $5 on pretty much the most important thing about your novel, then maybe you should save up.

    • I made a point to make sure the covers are similar in theme & Jimmy Gibbs blew it out of the water!

      Yeah without Fiverr I’m not sure what route I would have gone. Cheap & easy, nothing better than that!!!

  3. Maribeth

    I like both of your covers. They would definitely make me stop. Good luck with your self-publishing endeavor.

  4. Great covers! You can also do some amazing things in Word if you have an eye for design and a few dollars for stock photography. If you don’t have an eye for design PLEASE seek help (I’ve seen some god awful covers over the past couple weeks).

  5. I had no idea you could get book covers on fiver, especially covers that nice. Definitely worth looking into, thanks!

  6. Great covers! Hope it all comes together, you seem to be on the right path!

  7. Pingback: Self-Publishing – At The Eve Of Launch | Nothing To Read Here

Leave a Reply

