Staying in KDP Select

Hey All,

I recently read a fellow author’s post, Brian J. Jarrett, in which he talked about why he is putting some of his back catalog on KDP Select.  I recently decided to re-opt into KDP Select and decided I should probably post something on this too.

My situation is different than Brian’s in that my work has always been exclusive to KDP. I published in late June 2014 and immediately signed up for Select in the hope that KDP’s promotions would help convince readers to give my work a chance. Shortly thereafter Kindle Unlimited rolled out. My intentions initially were to opt out of Select once my 90 days were up so I could get my books on other platforms but the combination of KOLL and Kindle Unlimited caused me to reconsider.

KU_HP_SignUpBanner_B._V326041171_

My 1st book (After The Event) is only .99 cents which means I make .35 cents for every purchase. But every time it is borrowed (either through KOLL or Unlimited) I make around $1.50 +/borrow. This month I have been averaging 200 borrows a week for book 1 alone. So for Book 1 you can see why I hesitate to remove it from Select.

My 2nd book (The Remnants) is a bit different. It is $2.99 so I’m making around $2.07 for every purchase.  So every time the book is borrowed I actually get less than I would had it been purchased. But at the same time I’m getting the book into people’s hands while still making $.  As Brian pointed out Hugh Howey recently posted about this dilemma

So those are my reasons. While I hate that there are people who won’t have access to my work because of the exclusivity I have to do what I think is best for my “business”, and at this time KDP Select benefits cannot be ignored.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Book

Leave a Reply

